Senators Birkholz, Richardville, Kahn, Pappageorge, Jansen, Gilbert, Jelinek, Kuipers, Hardiman, McManus and Allen offered the following resolution:

## Senate Resolution No. 174.

A resolution to express support for the designation of the Beaver Basin Wilderness Area at the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore.

Whereas, The Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore running along Lake Superior between Grand Marais and Munising is a treasure for our state and nation. Our country's first national lakeshore, Pictured Rocks is a unique outdoors resource due to its varied geological features, spectacular scenery, and the unsurpassed range of experiences it offers visitors. Its facilities include well-developed areas open to cars, motor boats, and snowmobiles; areas where sustained yield lumbering takes place; several levels of camping; hunting and fishing; and opportunities for solitude and a rugged outdoor challenge; and

Whereas, As a key element of the management plan developed with strong public participation over several years, the proposal for the formal designation of the Beaver Basin Wilderness Area will provide a permanent legal protection for 11,740 acres. The new status, however, will not reduce public access or increase restrictions elsewhere at Pictured Rocks. In fact, other parts of implementing the management plan have increased access elsewhere; and

Whereas, The Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore attracts more than 425,000 visitors every year and generates approximately \$20 million in economic activity for the region. Clearly, with the designation of the Beaver Basin Wilderness Area, this treasure will long continue to enhance lives and solidify Michigan's heritage of respecting and protecting our natural resources and using them in a reasonable and responsible manner; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate, That we express our support for the designation of the Beaver Basin Wilderness Area at the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, the members of the Michigan congressional delegation, and the National Park Service.