Senator Whitmer offered the following resolution:

Senate Resolution No. 142.

A resolution congratulating the Capital Area Transportation Authority on receiving the 2007 Outstanding Transportation System Achievement Award.

Whereas, The American Public Transportation Association honors one public transportation system in North America each year which demonstrates the highest levels of efficiency and effectiveness; and

Whereas, Over the years, the Capital Area Transportation Authority (CATA) has excelled in providing the public with safe and reliable transportation and exceptional customer service, while demonstrating a strong commitment to the community; and

Whereas, Through years of strong leadership guided by CATA's CEO/Executive Director Sandra Draggoo and current CATA Board members Patricia Munshaw, Peter Kuhnmuench, Joseph Sambaer, Dirck Terwilliger, R. John Strolle, Ralph Monsma, Jean Golden, Walter Dell, Pat Cannon, Mark Grebner, and Michael Rice, the Capital Area Transportation Authority has established itself as a leader in the public transportation field; and

Whereas, CATA received the award at the APTA annual meeting luncheon on October 9, 2007, in Charlotte, North Carolina; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate, That we hereby join the state of Michigan, as well as the entire nation, in congratulating the Capital Area Transportation Authority upon receiving the 2007 Outstanding Transportation System Achievement Award; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution be transmitted to the Capital Area Transportation Authority as evidence of our high esteem.