## SR-204, As Adopted by Senate, June 5, 2008

Senators Richardville and Bishop offered the following resolution:

Senate Resolution No. 204.

A resolution commemorating the Detroit Red Wings on their championship victory in the 2008 Stanley Cup Finals.

Whereas, The Detroit Red Wings defeated the Pittsburgh Penguins in the sixth game of the Stanley Cup Finals; and

Whereas, The Detroit Red Wings, as the franchise with the most wins in the National Hockey League, won the President's Trophy for a sixth time; and

Whereas, The Detroit Red Wings have shone a positive light on the city of Detroit and the state of Michigan; and

Whereas, Team owners Mike and Marian Ilitch have shown a dedication to their hockey franchise and its host city that far exceeds that of their counterparts in the world of professional sports; and

Whereas, Coach Mike Babcock is a finalist for the Jack Adams Award for a coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team's success; and

Whereas, Captain Nicklas Lindstrom is a finalist for the James Norris Memorial Trophy for demonstrating the greatest all-around ability among NHL defensive players; and

Whereas, Pavel Datsyuk was awarded the NHL's Plus Minus Award for achieving the highest plus-minus statistic among all players during the regular season, and he is a finalist for the Lady Bing Trophy for a player who exhibits outstanding sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability; and

Whereas, Chris Osgood and Dominik Hasek were jointly awarded the William M. Jennings Trophy for allowing the fewest goals in the NHL during the regular season; and

Whereas, The Detroit Red Wings have been the most successful team in the National Hockey League for the past fifteen years; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate, That we congratulate the Detroit Red Wings on their championship victory in the 2008 Stanley Cup Finals; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution be transmitted to the Detroit Red Wings Organization.