The Speaker, on behalf of the entire House of Representatives, offered the following resolution:

House Resolution No. 398.

A resolution to honor the Detroit Red Wings for winning the 2008 Stanley Cup.

Whereas, The Detroit Red Wings successfully claimed their eleventh Stanley Cup. They are to be congratulated for their determination and overwhelming defensive play by defeating the Pittsburgh Penguins for the championship win on June 4, 2008; and

Whereas, The Detroit Red Wings also brought home the Stanley Cup to the city that deserves to be the home of the Stanley Cup Champions - Hockeytown, U.S.A.; and

Whereas, In truly memorable and determined playoff fashion against the Nashville Predators, bitter-rival Colorado Avalanche and the Dallas Stars, the Detroit Red Wings displayed tremendous patience, skill, and discipline in reaching the Stanley Cup Finals; and

Whereas, In the Stanley Cup final series, the Red Wings carried a dream from October 3, 2007 to the last game on June 4, 2008, where they defeated the Pittsburgh Penguins four games to two, in the best-of-seven final; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, That the members of this legislative body hereby honor and congratulate the 2008 NHL Stanley Cup Champions, the Detroit Red Wings; and be it further

Resolved, That we congratulate Assistant Captain Henrik Zetterberg for being named the Conn Smythe Trophy winner as the 2008 Stanley Cup Playoff Most Valuable Player; and be it further

Resolved, That we congratulate Nicklas Lidstrom as being the first European born Team Captain of a Stanley Cup winning team; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution be transmitted to Mike and Marian Ilitch, General Manager Ken Holland, Head Coach Mike Babcock and his entire coaching staff, the outstanding players, and the entire Detroit Red Wings organization as evidence of our highest esteem and congratulations.