Reps. Hune, DeRoche, Ward, Stahl, Stakoe, Taub, Casperson, Walker, Hoogendyk, Sheen, Gaffney, Nofs, Amos, Vander Veen, Voorhees, LaJoy, Robertson, Shaffer, Clack, Brandenburg, Accavitti, Anderson, Bieda, Caul, Dennis, DeRossett, Ehardt, Elkins, Farhat, Garfield, Gieleghem, Gillard, Huizenga, Jamnick, Julian, Kooiman, Lipsey, Paletko, Richardville, Sheltrown, Spade, Tobocman, Vagnozzi, Woronchak, Brown, Gleason and Hardman offered the following resolution:

House Resolution No. 179.

A resolution to memorialize the Congress of the United States to enact legislation to reduce the threshold of eligibility for Prisoner of War benefits to one day of imprisonment.

Whereas, Under current federal law, a former Prisoner of War is eligible for special benefits when the imprisonment extends for a period of at least 30 days. These benefits include a variety of health services, including some that require a threshold of eligibility of 90 days of internment; and

Whereas, Many people strongly feel that the length of time served as a POW necessary to receive special benefits is far too long. The sacrifice being made by members of our military who are incarcerated as prisoners and the conditions they face are such that the 30-day requirement is entirely inappropriate; and

Whereas, Much stronger protections should be extended to the men and women who risk everything in defense of their country and their fellow citizens. Creating a minimum threshold for POW benefits eligibility would send an important message to our military that our country is making a true commitment to these heroes commensurate with their suffering and sacrifices; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, That we memorialize the Congress of the United States to enact legislation to reduce the threshold of eligibility for Prisoner of War benefits to one day of imprisonment; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, and the members of the Michigan congressional delegation.