Reps. Richardville, Accavitti, Acciavatti, Adamini, Amos, Anderson, Bieda, Bisbee, Bradstreet, Brown, Byrum, Casperson, Caswell, Caul, Cheeks, Clack, Condino, Dennis, DeRoche, DeRossett, Drolet, Elkins, Emmons, Farhat, Farrah, Gaffney, Garfield, Gieleghem, Gillard, Gleason, Hager, Hart, Hoogendyk, Howell, Huizenga, Hummel, Hune, Hunter, Jamnick, Rick Johnson, Ruth Johnson, Julian, Koetje, Kooiman, LaJoy, LaSata, Law, Lipsey, McConico, Meisner, Meyer, Minore, Moolenaar, Murphy, Newell, Nitz, Nofs, O'Neil, Paletko, Palmer, Palsrok, Pappageorge, Pastor, Phillips, Plakas, Pumford, Rivet, Robertson, Rocca, Sak, Shackleton, Shaffer, Sheen, Sheltrown, Shulman, Smith, Spade, Stahl, Stakoe, Stallworth, Steil, Stewart, Tabor, Taub, Tobocman, Vagnozzi, Vander Veen, Voorhees, Walker, Ward, Waters, Wenke, Whitmer, Williams, Wojno, Woodward, Woronchak and Zelenko offered the following resolution:

House Resolution No. 16.

A resolution of the very highest praise, tribute, gratitude, and thanksgiving offered as a memorial for the crew of NASA Mission STS-107 aboard the Space Shuttle Columbia and to memorialize the Congress of the United States and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration to continue the nation's commitment to space exploration.

Whereas, The tragic end to the last mission of the space shuttle Columbia has left an indelible mark upon the collective memory of a generation to remind us all that progress is sometimes paid with a human price. The members of the Michigan Legislature, on behalf of the people of this state, wish to convey our profound sense of loss and to express the deep respect and pride we feel for all of the men and women who commit themselves to leading our nation and the world to new worlds of knowledge; and

Whereas, The people of Michigan have always held special interest in the manned space program, with many of our citizens contributing to its successes over the past forty-two years, including numerous astronauts. That this tragedy touches more than the United States but all people throughout the world. Of the seven crewmembers, one was born on the soil of a different continent and another was a citizen of a foreign nation. The exploration of space is not solely an American endeavor, but an effort of all humanity to reach to the stars; and

Whereas, Once more, this nation is painfully reminded that the exploration of space is neither routine nor happenstance but extraordinary and perilous. That those select few who are chosen to pioneer new frontiers always carry with them the hopes and prayers of a grateful nation. Their service to humanity and the cause of scientific advancement directly reflects their tremendous courage and fortitude to expand the boundaries of human knowledge. That the fiery demise of the Columbia on its return to Earth will never be forgotten and the world will once more be reminded of the boundless gratitude owed to these exceptional souls; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, That we memorialize the Congress of the United States and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration to continue the nation's commitment to space exploration and transmit copies of this resolution to the members of the Michigan congressional delegation; and be it further

Resolved, That a unanimous accolade of the highest tribute be hereby offered to honor the memory of Mission STS-107 aboard the space shuttle Columbia. We acknowledge our deep admiration for these brave individuals: Colonel Rick Husband, Lt. Colonel Michael Anderson, Commander Laurel Clark, Captain David Brown, Commander William McCool, Dr. Kalpana Chawla, and Ilan Ramon, a Colonel in the Israeli Air Force; and be it further Resolved, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to NASA and to the families of Michael Anderson, David Brown, Kalpana Chawla, Laurel Clark, Rick Husband, William McCool and Ilan Ramon as a reflection of the high esteem and great respect which will always be held for their memory by the state of Michigan.