Reps. Richardville, Adamini, Anderson, Bieda, Caswell, Clack, Condino, DeRossett, Ehardt, Gieleghem, Gillard, Gleason, Hager, Huizenga, Koetje, Kooiman, Law, Meyer, Murphy, Nofs, Pappageorge, Pastor, Sak, Sheltrown, Shulman, Spade, Stahl, Tabor, Taub, Tobocman, Vagnozzi, Vander Veen, Voorhees, Wojno, Jamnick, Lipsey and Phillips offered the following resolution:

House Resolution No. 305.

A resolution to memorialize the President and the Congress of the United States to designate the River Raisin Battlefield as a National Historic Landmark.

Whereas, The then-territory of Michigan played a pivotal role in the events of the War of 1812 that saw the fledgling United States finally achieve complete freedom from the military domination of Great Britain, which had occupied American territory long after the Treaty of Paris had ended the Revolutionary War; and

Whereas, The Battle of the River Raisin took place on Michigan soil on January 22, 1813, in Monroe County. Nine hundred thirty-four Americans were involved in this conflict of which only thirty-three escaped death or capture following the massacre of wounded soldiers and innocent civilians after the battle in the bloodiest encounter of the War of 1812; and

Whereas, The men of the Kentucky Cavalry, led by survivors of the Battle of the River Raisin, engaged British forces and their Indian allies, driving them back into Canada and decisively defeating them at the Battle of the Thames under the battle cry of "Remember the Raisin!" which galvanized support for the war effort in the Old Northwest Territory and across the nation; and

Whereas, This important battle in America's past has never received the respect and acclaim it deserves with its designation as a National Historic Landmark; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, That we memorialize the President and the Congress of the United States to designate the River Raisin Battlefield as a National Historic Landmark; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to the Office of the President of the United States, the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, the members of the Michigan congressional delegation, and the Governor of Kentucky.