Reps. Kooiman, Huizenga, Hart, Van Regenmorter, Stakoe, Koetje, Steil, Rocca, Wenke, Howell, Accavitti, Adamini, Anderson, Brandenburg, Brown, Byrum, Caswell, Condino, Dennis, DeRossett, Emmons, Farrah, Gillard, Gleason, Hager, Hoogendyk, Hopgood, Jamnick, Lipsey, Meyer, Milosch, Newell, Nitz, Pappageorge, Pastor, Richardville, Sak, Sheen, Sheltrown, Shulman, Spade, Stallworth, Stewart, Tabor, Tobocman, Vagnozzi, Vander Veen, Voorhees, Zelenko, Caul, Ehardt, Gieleghem, Kolb, Murphy and Pumford offered the following resolution:

## House Resolution No. 214.

A resolution congratulating the 2003 Calvin College Men's Cross Country team on their Division III National Championship.

Whereas, It is an honor and a privilege to extend our congratulations to Calvin College for the athletic and academic accomplishments of the 2003 Calvin College Men's Cross Country team; and

Whereas, This team was led by Division III Cross Country co-coaches of the year Brian Diemer and Al Hoeksta and assistant coaches Robert Hyde and Tim VanHaitsma, all of who greatly contributed to the winning of the 2003 Division III Men's Cross Country National Championship; and

Whereas, Much to the delight of their loyal fans, the 2003 Men's Cross Country team captured their second NCAA Division III National Championship in four years. The incredible success of this team can be attributed to hard work, tremendous depth, great skill, a competitive attitude, and excellent coaching; and

Whereas, At the National Championships in Hanover, Indiana, the Calvin College Knights recorded the second lowest score in Division III National Championship history; and

Whereas, The Knights Cross Country team has also been honored for their academic accomplishments. The team received All-Academic honors by the College Cross Country Coaches Association of America; and

Whereas, What separates good teams from national championships is the hard work and training that occurs in practice, far removed from the excitement of the cross country meet. Today, we admire the efforts, team spirit, and hard work these talented men have put forth in order to win the 2003 Division III Men's Cross Country National Championship; and

Whereas, The talented members of the National Championship team are: Joel Alberts, Tim Avery, Nick Chen, Matt Edwards, Jeff Engbers, Tim Finnegan, David Haagsma, Ben Hammer, Aaron Iverson, Harrison Jorritsma, Hindrik Kok, Kris Koster, Brian Paff, Joel Reasoner, Paul Rollett, Todd Schuster, Andy Yazzie, and Tyler Zwagerman; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, That the members of this legislative body congratulate the 2003 Calvin College Men's Cross Country team on their Division III National Championship; and be it further

Resolved, That we recognize the talents and efforts of each of the members of this championship team for their participation in this momentous occasion.