Reps. Hoogendyk, Acciavatti, Amos, Bradstreet, Brandenburg, Caswell, DeRoche, DeRossett, Drolet, Ehardt, Garfield, Hager, Hummel, Kooiman, LaJoy, Meyer, Middaugh, Palmer, Pappageorge, Pastor, Rocca, Shaffer, Sheen, Stakoe, Steil, Taub, Vander Veen and Voorhees offered the following resolution:

House Resolution No. 42.

A resolution to memorialize the Congress of the United States to enact the President's tax cut proposals.

Whereas, While there are numerous factors that influence the health of the economy, one area where changes can have a major impact is taxation. In response to the lagging American economy, the President has proposed a comprehensive series of tax relief and incentive measures. The plan offers widespread tax relief that will produce a dramatic increase in jobs and economic activity; and

Whereas, The President's proposal includes an acceleration of income tax rate reductions, incentives for small businesses, and the elimination of the current practice of taxing dividends twice. Taken together, these changes will return a considerable amount of money to the hands of American workers and their families, which will create immediate positive results. Most importantly, the long-term impact of these measures will strengthen the structure of the American economy far into the future; and

Whereas, Analysts who have studied the impact of the tax relief and economic development proposal have reported that as many as 1.5 million jobs will be created during the first 18 months following its enactment. Clearly, the well-reasoned approach of letting citizens decide how best to spend more of their money will prove to be the best strategy for reviving the economy and putting our country on a stronger foundation for the future; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, That we memorialize the Congress of the United States to enact the President's tax cut proposals; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, and the members of the Michigan congressional delegation.