

Lansing, Michigan 48909-7536

P. O. Box 30036



Telephone: (517) 373-5383 Fax: (517) 373-1986 TDD: (517) 373-0543

S.B. 1223 (S-1): FLOOR ANALYSIS

Senate Bill 1223 (Substitute S-1 as reported by the Committee of the Whole)

Sponsor: Senator Virg Bernero

Committee: Economic Development, Small Business and Regulatory Reform

CONTENT

The bill would amend the Asbestos Abatement Contractors Licensing Act to require the Department of Labor and Economic Growth (DLEG) to return a person's license fee, and reduce the fee for his or her next renewal application by 15%, if DLEG failed to issue or deny a license within the time required.

The Act requires DLEG, within 15 working days after receiving a license application, to acknowledge receipt of the application and notify the applicant of any deficiency in it. Under the bill, DLEG would have to give this notice in writing or make the information electronically available. The Act also requires DLEG, within 60 days after receiving a completed application, including all additional information requested, to issue or deny the application. The bill would define "completed application".

The bill would require DLEG to report to the Legislature by December 1 each year, beginning in 2005, regarding the number of applications received and completed within the prescribed time period; the number of applicants not issued a license within that period; the number of applications denied; and the amount of money returned.

MCL 338.3209 & 338.3211

FISCAL IMPACT

In FY 2002-03, the Department collected \$5,000 for initial and \$30,300 for renewal licenses for asbestos contractors. The potential loss of revenue from the 15% reduction for future years would equate to \$4,500.

The bill also would require a report that would include new or additional information not currently collected. The database adjustment required to accommodate this requirement and the ability to flag those licensees eligible for the 15% reduction could increase Information Technology costs.

Date Completed: 6-16-04 Fiscal Analyst: Maria Tyszkiewicz

Legislative Analyst: Suzanne Lowe